DAYTONA BEACH FL - FEBRUARY 17: Ryan Newman driver of the #39 U.S. Army Chevrolet and Paul Menard driver of the #27 Menards Chevrolet lead the field to the green flag to start the first race of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Gatorade Duel at Daytona International Speedway on February 17 2011 in Daytona Beach Florida. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR)

Daytona 500 Results: Trevor Bayne Wins Daytona 500 In Second Career Sprint Cup Start

Dale Earnhardt Jr won the pole for the 53rd running of the Great American Race from Daytona Motor Speedway on Sunday

  • Live
2 Total Updates since February 17, 2011
  • Important 1
  • Updates 2
  • All Updates 2

Daytona 500 Results: Trevor Bayne Becomes Youngest Ever To Win Daytona 500 In Mad-Dash To The Finish

Trevor Bayne played it safe most of the day at the 2011 Daytona 500. With a new track that allowed drivers to pair up and draft race – with little need to turn the steering wheel or take your foot off the gas, Bayne avoided trouble, eased back when he needed to, and in the end blocked all comers in winning the 53rd running of the Daytona 500 in his second-career Sprint Cup start. It was Bayne’s first start at Daytona.

As big name after big name dropped out, Bayne kept his car especially clean and in the end – during the race’s second attempt at a green-white-checker finish, Bayne blocked Carl Edwards at just the right time to get the win.

Ironically, Bayne is the youngest winner of the 500 while racing for one of the sports oldest teams – the Woods Borthers – who’se history in Sprint Cup goes all the way back to simpler time – before NASCAR became so corporate. It’s those times that hard core racing fans long for, and a race like today may go a long way towards getting some of those fans back.

Full Results Below:

1. Trevor Bayne 2. Carl Edwards 3. David Gilliland 4. Bobby Labonte 5. Kurt Busch 6. Juan Pablo Montoya 7. Regan Smith 8. Kyle Busch 9. Paul Menard 10. Mark Martin 11. AJ Allmendinger 12. Bill Elliott 13. Tony Stewart 14. David Ragan 15. Terry Labonte 16. Robby Gordon 17. Clint Bowyer 18. Jamie McMurray 19. Martin Truex Jr. 20. Steve Wallace 21. Denny Hamlin 22. Ryan Newman 23. Joey Logano 24. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 25. Kasey Kahne 26. Dave Blaney 27. Jimmie Johnson 28. Jeff Gordon 29. Brad Keselowski 30. David Reutimann 31. Brian Vickers 32. Travis Kvapil 33. Andy Lally 34. Matt Kenseth 35. Greg Biffle 36. Jeff Burton 37. Marcos Ambrose 38. Robert Richardson Jr. 39. Joe Nemechek 40. Michael Waltrip 41. Brian Keselowski 42. Kevin Harvick 43. JJ Yeley
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Cleveland

You must be a member of SB Nation Cleveland to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Cleveland. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Cleveland

You must be a member of SB Nation Cleveland to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Cleveland. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.