VIDEO: Umpire Blows Jack Hannahan Foul Ball Out In Yankees-Indians Game

It was the the one takeaway highlight from the Indians Tuesday night loss to the Yankees -- their fourth in a row. Jack Hannahan sent a foul bowl down the left field line and DeWayne Wise supposedly made miraculous diving catch into the stands. Only the ball was never in Wise's glove, as it immediately came out and went rolling down the first row where a fan snatched it up and visibly celebrated his acquisition. The umpire, Mike DiMuro never asked Wise to show him the ball in his glove, an inexcusable mistake he later admitted to making.

Of course, that admission was well after he had run Hannahan for arguing the call. Although, "arguing" may be a misnomer:

Video of the play after the jump:

Via MLB.com:

For more on the Cleveland Indians and the New York Yankees, check out their respective SB Nation blogs at Let's Go Tribe and Pinstripe Alley. More news and analysis from all over the world of MLB can be found at Baseball Nation.

Trending Discussions

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join SB Nation Cleveland

You must be a member of SB Nation Cleveland to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Cleveland. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Cleveland

You must be a member of SB Nation Cleveland to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Cleveland. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.