clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Braxton Miller, Johnathan Hankins named finalists for college football postseason awards

Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller is a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, while defensive tackle Johnathan Hankins closes in on the Chuck Bednarik Award


Two members of the undefeated Ohio State Buckeyes have been named semifinalists for 2012 college football postseason awards.

Quarterback Braxton Miller is one of 16 semifinalists for the 76th Maxwell Award, an accolade given to the collegiate player of the year, and defensive tackle Johnathan Hankins is a semifinalist for the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award, honoring the top collegiate defensive player of the year. Both awards are voted on by members of the Maxwell Football club, NCAA head football coaches and sportswriters.

Stanford alum Andrew Luck was the recipient of the Maxwell Award in 2011, while the Chuck Bednarik Award was given to former LSU cornerback Tyrann Mathieu.

Braxton Miller has completed 112-of-198 passes this season for 1,527 yards and 12 touchdowns, however, the majority of his production has come through the running game, where Miller has rushed 166 times for 1,093 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Hankins, a projected first-round pick in the upcoming NFL Draft, is the only Big Ten defender named as a Chuck Bednarik Award semifinalist. He has anchored an Ohio State defense that ranks in the top 20 nationally in rushing yards allowed.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.