clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kyrie Irving Wins Rookie Of The Year Award In Landslide

Media outlets confirmed Sunday what common sense confirmed months ago: Kyrie Irving is the 2011-12 NBA Rookie of the Year.

What was still unanswered, though, was the margin of victory for the Cleveland Cavaliers point guard.

More: Kyrie Irving 'Ready To Build Something Special'

Turns out it wasn't all that close.

According to the NBA Guru Twitter account, the voting broke down thus:

Irving reportedly received 117 of 120 first place votes, narrowly missing out on becoming the fourth-ever player to win the award unanimously. Blake Griffin won unanimously last season, but before that it had been since David Robinson in 1990 that a player garnered each first-place vote.

Rubio did not receive a single first-place vote, while Kenneth Faried, Kawhi Leonard and Iman Shumpert each received one.

After winning the award, Irving told reporters:

"This is not only for me, this is for the city of Cleveland. So this award is for you guys."

Irving led all rookies (and Cavs) with 18.5 points per game and was second in assists with 5.4 per game.

For more on the Cleveland Cavaliers, go to Fear The Sword. You can also check out professional basketball news from around the league over at SB Nation's NBA page, or check out SB Nation's YouTube channel:

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.