clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Big Ten Baseball Tournament To Begin on Wednesday

On Wednesday, the 2012 Big Ten Baseball tournament will get underway as the No. 4 seeded Nebraska Cornhuskers will play No. 5 seeded Michigan State Spartans at 12:05 pm EST. The game will be followed by the No. 3 seeded Penn State Nittany Lions playing the home town No. 6 seeded Ohio State Buckeyes at 3:35 pm.

Ohio State snagged the six-seed by winning the tiebreaker with Illinois and Minnesota because of their record against mutual opponents. This will be the 25th time that the Buckeyes will appear in the Big Ten Tournament, which is second among all Big Ten teams. This is also the team's second consecutive appearance in the tournament. Ohio State has won eight conference tournaments, the second most of any other team in Big Ten teams.

No. 1 seeded Purdue and No. 2 seeded Indiana both have first round byes and will have their opponents decided by the winners of Wednesday's games.

All games in the tournament will be televised on the Big Ten Network.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.