clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Indianapolis 500 Race Results And Finishing Order: Franchitti, Dixon, Kanaan Round Out Top 3

It came down to a wildly entertaining final few laps to decide Sunday's Indianapolis 500, as four neck-and-neck racers, including two teammates, battled it out heading into the final 2.5 mile stretch.

The leader for much of the final 100 miles, two-time winner Dario Franchitti held a narrow lead on Japanese driver Takumo Sato, who himself was in a coveted No. 2 position well within striking distance. But as Sato's patience waned, he opted to make a risky maneuver on turn No. 2 that ended up costing both him and the rest of the field a chance at glory as he spun out and crashed into the wall. Sato's crash defaulted the victory to Franchitti, despite being a very well earned result for the now three-time champ.

Cleveland native Graham Rahal, who began the race in the No. 12 spot and rose to fifth place down the stretch, ended up finishing in a rather disappointing 13th place after the many restarts ruined his momentum late. Fan favorite Tony Kanaan, still in search of his first Indy title, held a brief lead in the final ten laps before falling back into the pack to claim third place.

Here is the final finishing order:

1. Dario Franchitti
2. Scott Dixon
3. Tony Kanaan
4. Oriol Servia
5. Ryan Briscoe
6. James Hinchcliffe
7. Justin Wilson
8. Charlie Kimball
9. Townsend Bell
10. Helio Castroneves
11. Rubens Barrichello
12. Alex Tagliani
13. Graham Rahal
14. JR Hildebrand
15. James Jakes
16. Simon Pagenaud
17. Takuma Sato
18. E.J. Viso
19. Michel Jourdain Jr.
20. Sebastien Bourdais
21. Ed Carpenter
22. Katherine Legge
23. Ana Beatriz
24. Marco Andretti
25. Josef Newgarden
26. Sebastian Saavedra
27. Ryan Hunter-Reay
28. Will Power
29. Mike Conway
30. Bryan Clauson
31. Wade Cunningham
32. Simona De Silvestro
33. Jean Alesi

For more Indy 500 coverage, stay with this StoryStream or head over to Pop Off Valve.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.