clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College World Series 2012: Stout, All-SEC Bracket Awaits Kent State

Two-time defending College World Series champion South Carolina -- as well as a few more college baseball bluebloods -- await Kent State in the College World Series.

Making its first College World Series appearance, Kent State is grouped with three SEC schools which, combined, have been to the CWS eight times since 2009.

The Golden Flashes' first game will be Saturday at 5 p.m. Eastern against Arkansas. Rounding out the SEC trio is Florida, which is 29th all-time in wins and which was the national No. 1 seed in this year's tournament, and South Carolina, which has won back-to-back CWS titles.

In a double-elimination format, the four teams will square off against one another until a winner emerges. That winner will have a three-game series against the winner of the other bracket. (If confused, click here, and then click the middle box.)

The coverage will be carried on ESPN and ESPN2.

For more 2012 NCAA Baseball Tournament coverage, be sure to stay right here with SB Nation Cleveland's StoryStream. For more coverage of Kent State and the Mid-American Conference, check out Hustle Belt.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.