clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Will Have A Four-Team Playoff Starting In 2014-15

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

The university presidents have approved a 12-year deal that would provide a four-team playoff for college football. The deal begins in 2014-15.

From USA Today:

"This was timely, had to be done," former Big 12 acting commissioner Chuck Neinas said before Tuesday's meetings began. "(It was in) response to the public, response to the interest in college football. The BCS has done a great deal in helping promote college football, and there's a general feeling we need to do something better to determine a national champion."

Because there is a current BCS contract in place, the next two seasons will not feature the four-team playoff.

The university presidents said the sites of the playoffs have yet to be determined and will likely rotate from year to year between the current BCS venues.

For more on the ever-changing college football landscape, be sure to stay tuned to SB Nation's dedicated College Football hub.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.