clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

VIDEO: Umpire Blows Jack Hannahan Foul Ball Out In Yankees-Indians Game

It was the the one takeaway highlight from the Indians Tuesday night loss to the Yankees -- their fourth in a row. Jack Hannahan sent a foul bowl down the left field line and DeWayne Wise supposedly made miraculous diving catch into the stands. Only the ball was never in Wise's glove, as it immediately came out and went rolling down the first row where a fan snatched it up and visibly celebrated his acquisition. The umpire, Mike DiMuro never asked Wise to show him the ball in his glove, an inexcusable mistake he later admitted to making.

Of course, that admission was well after he had run Hannahan for arguing the call. Although, "arguing" may be a misnomer:

Video of the play after the jump:

Via MLB.com:

For more on the Cleveland Indians and the New York Yankees, check out their respective SB Nation blogs at Let's Go Tribe and Pinstripe Alley. More news and analysis from all over the world of MLB can be found at Baseball Nation.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.