clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ohio State Names Captains For 2012 Season

The Ohio State Buckeyes have decided their captains for the 2012 season. They are: FB Zach Boren, DL Garrett Goebel, RB Jordan Hall, LB Etienne Sabino and DL John Simon. Those five were selected by their teammates, and announced by head coach Urban Meyer.

"Announcing who are team captains is one of the great honors I get to do as head coach," Meyer said. "We had a number of guys get votes. This is a really good group of seniors who I am very proud to have leading this team."

(via Ohio State)

The five players have started a combined 185 games while at Ohio State, while Simon becomes just the seventh two-time captain in school history. Unlike 2011, where captains rotated on a game-by-game basis, these are Ohio State's permanent captains for 2012.

For more, stick with SB Nation Cleveland. For all things Ohio State, head over to Land-Grant Holy Land. For news, notes and analysis from around the country, check out SB Nation's college football news hub.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.