clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA Tournament bracket 2013: Ohio State a No. 2 seed, Akron a No. 12

Three teams from the state of Ohio made the NCAA tournament, including conference champions in the Ohio St. Buckeyes and the Akron Zips.


The NCAA tournament field is set, and three total teams from the state of Ohio have made the tournament.

The Ohio St. Buckeyes clinched their spot by winning the Big Ten tournament, and received a No. 2 seed. The Buckeyes are the No. 2 seed in the West region, and will open the tournament against the No. 15 Iona Gaels. The teams will tip off at 7:15 p.m. ET in Dayton, OH. The winner of that game will move on to either place the No. 7 Notre Dame Fighting Irish or the No. 10 Iowa St. Cyclones.

The Akron Zips won the MAC tournament to guarantee their bid, earning a No. 12 seed in the South region. They will open the tournament against the No. 5 Va. Commenwealth Rams. The game will start at 9:45 p.m ET on Thursday in Auburn Hills, MI. If the Zips win that game, they will face either the No. 4 Michigan Wolverines or the No. 13 South Dakota St. Jackrabbits.

The Cincinnati Bearcats received an at-large invitation, and are the No. 10 seed in the Midwest. They will start the tournament against the No. 7 Creighton Bluejays. That game will tip at 2:45 p.m ET on Thursday in Philadelphia, PA.

Click here to view the entire NCAA tournament bracket, and check out our March Madness Hub for all the latest information during the big dance.

More in College Basketball:

Printable bracket for March Madness

Need help filling out your bracket? Check out our predictions

Full coverage of March Madness

Everything you need to know about the NCAA bracket

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.