clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AFC Pro Bowl roster 2013: Baltimore leads 12 AFC North nominees

Houston and New England lead Pro Bowl selections.


A total of twelve players from the AFC North were selected to the 2013 AFC Pro Bowl team Wednesday night. The Baltimore Ravens, who have wrapped up the division championship, lead the way with six selections: running back Ray Rice, safety Ed Reed, defensive lineman Haloti Ngata, offensive guard Marshal Yanda, fullback Vonta Leach, and kick returner Jacoby Jones. Reed makes his ninth Pro Bowl appearance, and Jones, who was picked up off waivers from Houston this offseason, makes his first.

Cincinnati will send defensive end Geno Atkins and wide receiver A.J. Green. The Browns received nominations for tackle Joe Thomas and kicker Phil Dawson. Steelers tight end Heath Miller and center Maurkice Pouncey were also selected.

Houston led all AFC teams with eight selections, followed by New England with seven. The most surprising Pro Bowl haul has to be from the Kansas City Chiefs, who garnered five Pro Bowl nominations despite being tied for the league's worst record at 2-13.

The Pro Bowl will be played in Honolulu on January 27, 2013.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.