clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB To Expand Postseason To 10 Teams, Extra Wild Card Added

The MLB postseason is expanding to 10 teams, with two wild cards in each league.

The MLB has announced that it will add an additional Wild Card team to each league, expanding the playoffs to 10 teams, which includes an adjusted format.

Under the new system, two teams from each league will qualify as Wild Cards, and they will play a one-game elimination series prior to the Divisional Series.

The winner of each win-or-go-home game will advance to take on a division winner, and the postseason will resume its normal format starting in the Division Series. One change in the format that may change, however, is the sequence of the location of games, according to Amy Nelson of Nelson states that it's possible that the division winner that takes on the wild-card elimination game winner could begin its series on the road with two games, before returning home for the final three of the best-of-five games series. In previous years, the division winner has always opened its series at home, and the MLB has followed a 2-2-1 format.

You can read the entirety of MLB's release about the chance at

For all your latest Indians news and information, check out Let's Go Tribe, and for all the latest baseball coverage, check out SB Nation's MLB home.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.