clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Home Run Derby 2012: Contenstants, TV Schedule, Start Time And More

With Sunday's group of games in MLB finished, the All-Star break has begun fully, and Monday night will bring Kauffman Stadium the Home Run derby. There won't be any Cleveland Indians players in this season's derby, but it's still star studded and should provide a good show.

The American League will send out a team captained by Yankees star Robinson Cano. Cano's squad features Prince Fielder of the Tigers, Mark Trumbo of the Angels and Jose Bautista of the Blue Jays.

The National League will counter with a team led by Matt Kemp of the Los Angeles Dodgers. His team will have Carlos Gonzalez of the Rockies, Carlos Beltran of the Cardinals and Andrew McCutchen of the Pirates on it. Originally, Marlins slugger Giancarlo Stanton was on the NL team but had to be pulled due to injury. McCutchen ended up being his replacement.

The derby will begin at 8:00 p.m. ET on Monday at Kauffman Stadium in Kansas City. It will be televised on ESPN.

For more on the Cleveland Indians, check out Let's Go Tribe. For more news and analysis on the upcoming All-Star Game as well as everything going on during the break, check out Baseball Nation.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.