clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Home Run Derby 2012: Jose Bautista Leads Pack With 11 In 1st Round

The first round of the 2012 MLB Home Run Derby is over. Jose Bautista (Toronto Blue Jays), Carlos Beltran (St. Louis Cardinals), Mark Trumbo (Los Angeles Angels) and Prince Fielder (Detroit Tigers) will advance to the second round.

Bautista is the leader of the pack, with 11 in Round 1. Beltran and Trumbo had seven each.

Fielder managed five, including the longest home run of the night, a 454-foot blast.

Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado Rockies) and Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh Pirates) were both eliminated with four home runs, as was Matt Kemp (Los Angeles Dodgers) with one.

Last year's champion, Robinson Cano of the New York Yankees, didn't hit a single home run. If that wasn't enough, he was booed by the Kansas City crowd after every attempt. Ouch.

For more on the Cleveland Indians, check out Let's Go Tribe. For more news and analysis on the upcoming All-Star Game as well as everything going on during the break, check out Baseball Nation.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.