clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Home Run Derby 2012: Prince Fielder Wins Second Career Home Run Derby

Prince Fielder of the Detroit Tigers is the 2012 MLB Home Run Derby champion. In the final round on Monday night, he beat Jose Bautista 12-7 to join Ken Griffey Jr. as the only players in MLB history to win the competition more than once.

Fielder was the champ in 2009 as a member of the Milwaukee Brewers. He is the only player to win the Derby on behalf of both the American and National Leagues.

Fielder squeaked into the second round with five runs, then hit 11 in the second.

Bautista hit 11 home runs in the first round, then only managed two in Round 2. He advanced to face Fielder after beating the Los Angeles Angels' Mark Trumbo in a swing-off.

Along with Trumbo, the Cardinals' Carlos Beltran was eliminated in the second round. The Rockies' Carlos Gonzalez, the Pirates' Andrew McCutchen, the Dodgers' Matt Kemp and the Yankees' Robinson Cano didn't make it out of the first.

For more on the Cleveland Indians, check out Let's Go Tribe. For more news and analysis on the upcoming All-Star Game as well as everything going on during the break, check out Baseball Nation.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.