clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Braxton Miller, John Simon make cut for college football postseason awards

The Ohio State quarterback and defensive tackle are both up for postseason awards.

Kirk Irwin

The 2012 college football season is just half over, but lists for the year's postseason awards are already being cut down. Among those are the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the country's best quarterback, and the Lott IMPACT Trophy, which is given to the year's top defensive player, and an Ohio State Buckeyes player has made each list.

Braxton Miller, who has a chance to be a finalist for various postseason awards, was one of 16 quarterbacks to make the O'Brien cut list. Miller was one of two semifinalists from the Big Ten, with the other being Denard Robinson of the Michigan Wolverines. Simon was one of 20 players to make the cut for the Lott Trophy and one of six defensive linemen. He was one of four players to make the list from the Big Ten.

In eight games so far in 2012, Miller has thrown for 1,384 yards and rushed for 959 yards while amassing 21 total touchdowns. Simon, meanwhile, has 35 tackles, 8½ of which have been for a loss. He also has three sacks and a forced fumble.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.