clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Buckeyes earn first team All-Big Ten honors

Braxton Miller was one of several Buckeyes to earn awards Monday night.


Three Ohio State Buckeyes on the defensive side of the ball were named to the All-Big Ten Conference first team by coaches, as announced Monday night.

Defensive linemen Johnathan Hankins and John Simon were named to the first team. They were joined by defensive back Bradley Roby.

On the second team for the coaches vote was quarterback Braxton Miller, running back Carlos Hyde and wide receiver Corey Brown on the offensive side. On the defensive side, the Buckeyes were represented by linebacker Ryan Shazier and defensive back Christian Bryant.

Five Buckeyes earned honorable mention on the Coaches Team, including C.J. Barnett, Travis Howard, Corey Linsley, Jack Mewhort and Andrew Norwell.

On the Media Team, Ohio State was represented by Miller and Norwell on the first team offense. On the first team defense, Simon, Shazier, Roby and Howard earned spots.

Three Buckeyes were named to the media's second team. Hyde, Mewhort and Hankins all earned spots.

Ohio State had six more players named to the Media Team's honorable mention list, including Barnett, Brown, Bryant, Linsley, Reid Fragel and Etienne Sabino.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.