clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Braxton Miller wins Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year award

The Ohio State Buckeyes' star quarterback was recognized by the media.


Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback Braxton Miller was named as the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year on Tuesday night. It's the latest in a string of awards won by the sophomore, who won the conference's Griese-Brees Award for quarterback of the year and was named second-team all-conference by the coaches. Smith is the first Buckeye to be named the top offensive player in the conference since Troy Smith in 2006.

In leading the Buckeyes to an undefeated record in 2012, Miller threw for 2,039 yards and rushed for 1,271 yards, totalling 28 touchdowns. There is still a potentially bigger award on the horizon for Miller, though, who could soon be named as a Heisman Trophy finalist as well.

Defensive end John Simon was also recognized on Tuesday, winning the conference's Defensive Player of the Year award. The senior had previously won the conference's Smith-Brown Award, given to the top defensive lineman.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.