clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Releases 2015, 2016 Football Schedules, Ohio State To Open Against Purdue

The Big Ten has released the football schedules for the 2015 and 2016 seasons. Ohio State will end both seasons with games against the rival Michigan Wolverines.

Getty Images

The Big Ten conference has released their football schedules for both the 2015 and 2016 seasons, approved by the conference's administrators during the Big Ten Joint Group Meetings last week. Both seasons will kick off in early October and feature some tough rivalry matches right off the bat in the conference play.

In both cases, it's more about the end of the season than the beginning for Ohio State though.

Both seasons feature opening games -- on October 3 in 2015 and October 1 in 2016 -- for the Ohio State Buckeyes against the Purdue Boilermakers, with Purdue hosting the 2015 affair and the Buckeyes getting the hosting duties in 2016.

It's the end of the season that will get the most attention for Buckeyes fans though, with both years finishing the season off with games against the rival Michigan Wolverines on the final day. That series starts with the Wolverines hosting the Buckeyes, and the Buckeyes taking the hosting in the second year.

As with previous seasons, the Big Ten Championship game in 2015 will be decided at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana. For 2016, the site is still to be determined though it would be a safe bet to assume that Lucas Oil will host it once again.

A full .pdf of the two newly announced seasons, along with all of the other seasons that had already been decided from 2013 on, can be found here.

For more news and analysis on the Big Ten Conference, head over to Off Tackle Empire. More on the Ohio State Buckeyes can be found over at Land Grant Holy Land, and more on NCAA Football in general can be found at SB Nation's designated NCAA hub.

Photographs by spatulated, Triple Tri, and chrischappelear used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.